Forty Winks!

Just a realization of the sleep deprived life I live.

Forty Winks!

Come lie on my lap daddy’s girl the world will keep making you run.

Let me put you to bed, little one, there’s still some time for the sun.

You’ve been awake quite some time, take a little rest this while

Come Sweetheart, sleep until morning, dream of a mountain and isle.

Dawn hasn’t broken yet, the birds aren’t chirping

My little bird is up already, without grain and water, she’s soul searching.

Your mind needs rest too not just your machine like body

How far will she run, give her some fuel somebody.

My little soul is working fine, but doesn’t know what she has begun

She travels and drives, no dream chariots but the transport wagon.

She writes a note for me furiously, expressing anger because I wait for her till bed.

She switches off my room lights quietly and steals from the kitchen a piece of bread.

Come lie on my lap daddy’s girl the world will keep making you run.

Come lie on my lap tonight, morning routine will be back to square one.

You’ve been awake quite some time, take a little rest this while

When you wake up tomorrow I’m sure you’ll smile.

Leave a Reply

