Attempt!

When was the last time when you did something for the first time?

man_running_race-660x400

Injured, sitting outside the tennis court with a bleeding knee

Crying with a covered face, no idea where would I be.

Some were laughing, some were watching me with pity

Some were empathizing while some were showing sympathy.

But there was one person who didn’t say a word then

The one who let me cry in peace even among them.

He sat right beside but showed no care nor stress on his face

I had more rivers flowing from my eyes when he showed just no grace.

My hero was right next to me who showed just no sorrow

He just saw me and my better tomorrow.

He asked me the reason I was crying so much

Was it the ache of the knee or not being able to play as such?

His words stopped the flow of my tears making me reflect

On the reason for my gloom, reason for my regret.

It wasn’t the pain of the bleeding knee, it was my disability

He trusted me when I said, it wasn’t much of pain, he knew my ability.

I asked him whether I could still play and not worry or cry

And Dad said, “You will never know until you try.”

I am happy and proud today even though then I lost

Because I know I tried, I know the cost.

It doesn’t matter whether I failed or I passed

What matters is could I outlast?

Had my dad not been there to show me the hurt knee was of no contempt

I would be repenting today that I made no attempt.

Leave a Reply

